Utah County DUI Attorney
Solid Defense For Clients Facing DUI & Drunk Driving Charges in Utah
Getting arrested for driving under the influence, or DUI, in Utah County can result in serious consequences, including fines, license suspension, and even a jail sentence. If faced with DUI charges in Utah County, it is important to know your rights and get legal representation quickly. A qualified lawyer from Preston Day Law can represent you in court, negotiate a plea bargain if necessary, present evidence in your favor, and examine all of the evidence against you to determine its validity.
There are several factors that can affect how a DUI case is resolved. These include whether this is your first DUI offense or if you have past convictions; the amount of alcohol consumed; any drug use; roadside test results; and whether anyone else was injured as a result of your actions. By having an experienced attorney on your side during this process, they will be able to assess all the facts and develop an appropriate defense strategy on your behalf. Additionally, they may also offer valuable advice regarding any plea deals or other alternatives that could potentially reduce or dismiss any penalties associated with your DUI charge.
Understanding Utah’s DUI Laws & Penalties
In Utah, it is illegal to drive or be in control of a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs:
- While "incapable of safely operating a vehicle" due to drugs/alcohol, or
- With a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .05% or higher (Utah was the first state in the United States to reduce the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit from 0.08 percent to 0.05 percent for drivers over the age of 21)
When charged with your first DUI in Utah, you could face the following consequences:
- Mandatory 48-hour jail term or 48-hours of community service
- License suspension
- Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) for a year and supervised probation (if your Blood Alcohol Limit (BAC) was 0.16% or higher)
- Fines of at least $1,310
Drivers convicted of felony DUI face:
- Up to five years in prison or 1,500 hours in jail
- A fine of at least $2,850 will also need to be paid
- If the driver's BAC was .16% or greater, the court is generally required to order an IID, SCRAM bracelet, and/or electronic home monitoring
- If the judge considers the driver a safety hazard, an additional 90-day to 2-year license suspension could also be ordered
Have you been arrested for drunk driving? Getting an experienced lawyer should be your first priority. Contact our Utah County DUI attorney online or by calling (801) 335-6261 to schedule a consultation now!
Will a DUI Stay on My Record in Utah?
When an individual is charged with DUI in the state of Utah, it will most likely stay on their record for 10 years. After that period, it can be expunged.
Can You Get a DUI in Utah Without Driving?
In the state of Utah, a motorist can get a DUI without driving. If an individual was in physical control of the vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or with an illegal BAC level, that person could be charged with a DUI. The courts apply a totality of circumstances test to determine if a driver was in physical control of the vehicle.
Some of these factors include but are not limited to the following:
- Where the driver was in the car
- If the driver has the ignition key
- If the driver was touching the steering wheel or found operating controls
- Whether the driver was awake or asleep
Determining actual physical control depends on the specific facts of a case. Therefore, it is important to consult with an experienced Utah County DUI attorney if you are charged with this type of DUI.
Charged with a DUI in Utah County? Get in touch with us online today or call us at (801) 335-6261 to secure a consultation with our Utah County DUI attorney!
The Many Ways We Can Help YouTypes of Cases I Handle
hear It from Our ClientsThe Stories That Matter Most
“Preston did not disappoint!”
We Offer Free Consultations
It all starts with a consultation, no obligations. Give us a try.